A Slice of Dickens’ Wit

The following passage may seem a little at odds in a blog devoted to beauty, but it has always been one of my favourite humorous excerpts from Dickens’ delightful David Copperfield, first published in 1850. The hero of the semi-autobiographical tale has been getting drunk on wine all evening with his friends, when one suggests they go out to the theatre. The described scene makes me smile, and a smile is a beautiful thing. Enjoy!

Owing to some confusion in the dark, the door was gone. I was feeling for it in the window-curtains, when Steerforth, laughing, took me by the arm and led me out. We went downstairs, one behind another. Near the bottom, somebody fell, and rolled down. Somebody else said it was Copperfield. I was angry at that false report, until, finding myself on my back in the passage, I began to think there might be some foundation for it.”

About Poetic Beauty

Passionate lover of beauty in all its forms, from the universal to the infinitesimal, with a desire to touch the hearts of all I encounter and share the beauty of life with others My art: www.poeticbeauty.co.uk
This entry was posted in Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Slice of Dickens’ Wit

  1. Vimal says:

    made me smile too 🙂

Leave a Reply

